Skip to content

Access keys for

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

The Chief Executive of the NZ Transport Agency reports to the NZ Transport Agency Board. The board is appointed by the Minister of Transport and is responsible for making independent decisions on allocating and investing funds from the National Land Transport Fund. It publishes its planned programme of investment every three years in the National Land Transport Programme.

Find out more about the National Land Transport Programme

Board members

The Minister of Transport can appoint up to eight members to the board. Current members are listed below.

Sir Brian Roche – Chair

Sir Brian Roche

Brian brings extensive governance, leadership and business experience to the NZ Transport Agency.

In 2017, he was named a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to the State and business.

He was Chief Executive of the New Zealand Post Group from 2010 to 2017 and was previously Chair of the Transport Agency Board between August 2008 and March 2010.

Cassandra Crowley – Deputy Chair

Cassandra Crowley is a Chartered Accountant (Fellow) and Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand as well as a member of the Institute of Directors.

In addition to her commercial advisory work, she holds a number of non-executive directorships across several sectors of the New Zealand economy. These roles include chairing several audit, finance, risk committees, as well as overseeing digital transformation. She is a past President of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and has been recognised for her leadership and governance contributions with the Supreme Award for Excellence in Governance from Woman on Boards.

David Smol

David Smol

David has over 35 years of experience in New Zealand and the UK in both the public and private sectors. He has worked in the energy sector in both countries, including as director of an Oxford-based energy consulting firm, with clients in the UK and Europe, including large energy utilities and transmission companies, renewable energy generators, regulatory bodies and government departments.

In 2008 David was appointed as chief executive of Ministry of Economic Development and from 2012-2017 was the inaugural chief executive of the Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment, in which capacity he was responsible for the stewardship of multiple regulatory systems.

David is an Independent Non-Executive Director for Contact Energy and is Chair of VicLink, the commercialisation subsidiary of Victoria University. He was made a Companion of the Queen’s Service Order in 2018.

Catherine Taylor

Catherine Taylor

Catherine is a Chartered Accountant and has held senior management positions in the public and private sector including five years as Director and Chief Executive of Maritime New Zealand. Catherine understands transport sector regulatory issues and has always been interested in how regulatory tools can be used to achieve safety outcomes.

Her current governance roles include Deputy Chair of the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority, Chair of the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy Investment Advisory Group, Deputy Chair of Nelson Airport Limited, Chair of Diabetes New Zealand, Trustee of the John Nesfield Trust and Trustee of the New Zealand Law Foundation.

Past roles include Director of the New Zealand Institute for Crop and Food Research (now Plant and Food Research), Member of the Civil Aviation Authority, Member of the Building Practitioners Board, Member of the Biosecurity Ministerial Advisory Committee and Trustee of the Life Flight Trust.

Ken Rintoul

Ken has over 40 years’ experience in the public and private sectors of New Zealand, with extensive knowledge in the construction and civil industries, including business ownership in these industries. Having lived in provincial New Zealand all his life, Ken is also aware of the needs of rural New Zealand.

In the past 10 years his governance roles have included Director of Far North Holdings, Appointed Trustee of Top Energy Ltd, Appointed Chairman Northern Rural Fire, Chairman Youth Development Trust (YES Program), Trustee North Point Trust, Ministry Appointed Advisor TKEMK Trust, Member of Rural Advisory Forum, Advisor to Fire Emergency New Zealand, Trustee of Hundertwasser Trust, Member of Northern Transport Committee, Appointed Chairman of Northland College Transition Board.

Patrick Reynolds

Patrick brings extensive expertise in urban form and transport analysis and advocacy, along with public sector governance experience to the NZ Transport Agency.

He has lectured in Urban Design at the University of Auckland and has written about transport and the urban realm in books, magazines, and online, most prominently at Greater Auckland. He is the recipient of a NZ Institute of Architects President’s Award expressly ‘for his contributions to the debates around Auckland’s urban issues’.

He has experience serving on boards for Auckland Council, Auckland Transport, and Rotorua Lakes Council.

Victoria Carter

Victoria Carter

Victoria has over 25 years’ experience as a Director on the Boards of NZX, private companies and council entities in the transport, education, arts and entertainment sector.

Founder of Cityhop, NZ’s first and largest carshare business she is a known expert on mobility as a service.

A former Auckland City Councillor, Victoria is an accredited Fellow of the Institute of Directors. In 2016 Victoria was awarded an ONZM for services to the arts, business and community. She holds a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Auckland.

John Bridgman

John has over 35 years’ experience in engineering and project management roles across Australasia and Asia. 

John is currently Chief Executive of Ōtākaro Limited.  Previously, he held a range of senior leadership positions and governance roles at AECOM, including as Industry Director - Civil Infrastructure in Australia, with responsibility for the company’s involvement in several of Australia’s largest infrastructure projects, and Managing Director for the New Zealand business, as well as a number of governance roles on major infrastructure projects in New Zealand, Australia, Asia and the UK.

Board committees

The board has four committees.

Risk and Assurance Committee


  • Cassandra Crowley (Chair)
  • Victoria Carter
  • Sir Brian Roche

Regulatory Committee


  • Catherine Taylor (Chair)
  • David Smol
  • Patrick Reynolds

Investment and Delivery Committee


  • Sir Brian Roche (Chair)
  • Ken Rintoul
  • Cassandra Crowley
  • Patrick Reynolds

People and Culture Committee


  • Victoria Carter (Chair)
  • Catherine Taylor
  • Ken Rintoul

Board meetings

The board meets regularly between March and December, and board committees meet every two to three months.

View the schedule of board meetings in 2020

Board minutes

Minutes of board meetings are published following confirmation at a subsequent standard board meeting and completion of an internal process to identify any content needing to be withheld on grounds available under the Official Information Act 1982.

Read the minutes of past meetings

Board decisions

Find out about the board's recent investment decisions